Managing user permissions
You can manage user permission to your project from the Project – Users page.
Add a user to the project
- Click the + (Add) button.
- Enter the user’s email and permission level. Note that “Viewer” permission can only be given to users who do not have any other type of permission yet, and vice versa.
- Click Save.
- New users will receive an email invitation to complete sign up – will show “Pending invitation” until done. You can resend the invitation by editing the user.
- Existing users’ permission will be updated on their next visit (or after page reload).
Modify a user permission level
- Click the user in the users list.
- Choose the new permission level. Note that “Viewer” permission can only be given to users who do not have any other type of permission yet, and vice versa.
- Click Update. The permission will be update on the next visit of the user (or after page reload).
See the list of dashboards accessible by a user
- Locate the user in the users list.
- Click the options icon on the right side of the row (ellipses) and choose “Dashboards”.
Remove a user from the project
- Locate the user in the users list.
- Click the options icon on the right side of the row (ellipses) and choose “Delete”.
- Confirm the deletion. The user will lose permission immediately. Note that you cannot delete the actual user, but only remove him from the project. For more information contact your CSM.
Project permission levels
Users can have one of the following levels of permission:
- Can make any changes to the Project, including changing Permissions.
- Can see, create, duplicate, edit and delete all the Reports in the project.
- Can create new Dashboards.
- Can only access Dashboards if shared with him.
- Can only edit Dashboards if given Edit permission on the dashboard.
- Can see all the Reports in the project.
- Can create/duplicate Reports.
- Can only edit/delete his own Reports.
- Can see the project Event Sources, Live Events (for implementation purposes).
- Can see the project Schema.
- Can see, create and duplicate Segments.
- Can only edit/delete his own Segments.
- Can’t see/edit any other project page/setting.
- Only has access to specific Dashboards that have been shared with him.
- Can change dashboard Date Range.
- Can see dashboard Filter Report and select values if the filter is set to allow it.
- Can’t see dashboard Global filters in the top bar or in the reports preview – this allows you to filter the dashboard by any sensitive information, hidden from viewers.
- Can’t see the project Schema
- Can’t see/create Reports not in dashboard.
- Can’t edit any Reports.
- Can’t access any Project page (menu is hidden).
Note on viewer permission:
A user can only have viewer permission if he does not have any other permission level on any project, and vice versa. To give viewer permission to a user that has already signed up, either use a different email or remove his permission from all other project first. Contact your CSM for additional assistance.
Full permissions list
|Dashboards||Duplicate||Only own/shared||Only own/shared||No|
|Dashboards||View||Only own/shared||Only own/shared||Only shared|
|Dashboards||Edit||Only own/shared as "Edit"||Only own/shared as "Edit"||No|
|Dashboards||Delete||Only own/shared as "Edit"||Only own/shared as "Edit"||No|
|Dashboards permissions||Share/edit/delete permissions||Only own/shared as "Edit"||Only own/shared as "Edit"||No|
|Dashboards date range||View||Yes, saved only for the user/when first shared||Yes, saved only for the user/when first shared||No|
|Dashboards date range||Edit||Yes, saved only for the user/when first shared||Yes, saved only for the user/when first shared||No|
|Dashboards filters||View||Yes, saved only for the user/when first shared||Yes, saved only for the user/when first shared||No|
|Dashboards filters||Edit||Yes, saved only for the user/when first shared||Yes, saved only for the user/when first shared||No|
|Dashboards filter report||View||Yes||Yes||Yes|
|Dashboards filter report||Edit values||Only own/shared as "Edit" dashboards, or if filter is set to allow it||Only own/shared as "Edit" dashboards, or if filter is set to allow it||No|
|Dashboards filter report||Edit conditions||Only own/shared as "Edit" dashboards||Only own/shared as "Edit" dashboards||No|
|Active project||Add new||Yes||Yes||No|
|Linked Data Sources||Add new||Yes||No||No|
|Linked Data Sources||View||Yes||No||No|
|Linked Data Sources||Edit||Yes||No||No|
|Linked Data Sources||Run||Yes||No||No|
|Linked Data Sources||Delete||Yes||No||No|
|Aggregation Tables||Add new||Yes||No||No|
|Publications||Add new||Yes||Only "Send now" from reports||No|
|Publications||Delete||Yes||Only unsubscribe himself||Only unsubscribe himself|
|Live Events||Add new||Yes||No||No|